Fab Find…Fun and Fashionable Spring Jackets!

augusta mae, cranford, nj, rain jacket, shopping, Uncategorized

 

Though the calendar says February 22, today’s warm weather had me dreaming of springtime! I can’t wait for the days when we shed the winter layers and we require only a light jacket to block the wind or keep us dry.  That is why today’s post is featuring one of my favorite “Fab Finds,” The very fashionable and functional Charles River New Englander Rain Jacket.

jacket

I first happened upon these jackets while browsing in one of my favorite Cranford, NJ shops, Augusta Mae.  Kim and Clara, the owners always have a great collection of trendy fashion forward items for ladies of all ages.  Their boutique is my go to shop when I am looking for a gift or merely a little retail therapy.  Customers are always greeted with a warm smile and pleasant conversation and an invitation to explore the many nooks and crannies of this very special space.

augusta-mae

August Mae features a number of monogramed items from baseball caps, to tank tops, shorts and pajama bottoms but it was the jackets that caught my eye the moment I set eyes on them!  Available in 13 beautiful colors with endless monograming thread colors, I KNEW I had to have one.  Next came the hard part, choosing a color for the jacket and then a font and color for the monogram. My quest began.  I tried the jackets on in each color, modeling each one, asking for the opinions of everyone in the store. Still unsure about the right look, I took to Pinterest, seeking inspiration, trying to determine which color combinations would reflect, “the real me!’  Finally, after much deliberation I decided on the classic navy jacket with a bright apple green monogram.  The results were stunning!

Now, as a mom of a teenage girl, I knew that if I had something so cool and fashionable I had better also grab one for my daughter.  However, just as quickly it hit me, what if what I thought was super cool was really not so cool in her eyes.  I knew I had better bring her in to the store to decide for herself.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that YES, she did think the jackets were attractive and yes, she would like one for herself.  Being far more practical than her mom, it took my daughter mere moments to select her jacket color and monogram.  Navy jacket with red thread is an equally beautiful combination!

Since our first jacket purchases I have returned to order several more jackets in a variety of colors and combinations for family and friends.  I find that they are a thoughtful indulgence for ladies of all ages, providing an attractive preppy look to springtime fashion.  At a cost of $55 each, these jackets make lovely birthday, holiday or just because gifts and at Augusta Mae, complimentary gift wrap completes the treat!

The Charles River New Englander jackets are 100% wind and waterproof.  The jacket is lined with grey mesh for airflow circulation and its lined sleeves provide easy on/off dressing.  The hood and open hem of this jacket feature shock cord-drawstrings for fit adjustment.  This jacket has front-vented capes for breathability and reflective strip accent on the front and backsides.  Additional features include: covered zippered side pockets, adjustable cuffs with hook and loop closer and A-lined styling.  Jackets are available in women’s sizes xs-3xl and in toddler, children and youth sizing.

The next time you are walking through Cranford, pop in to 35 Alden street to check out Augusta Mae and these fabulous jackets.  I guarantee you will be glad that you did! Tell them, Lori Talbot Author sent you!!!

Not nearby?  Give them a call at 908-370-7748 or visit their website augustamae.com

Leave a Reply

